Shared contacts are the contacts (leads, customers, etc.) that need to be viewed and accessed by members of your team. Share Email Contacts offers a convenient and efficient way to manage those contacts across your G Suite Team.
Frequently Asked Questions
Our application uses Google Contacts application programming interfaces. So when you use the application for the first time, G Suite Admin needs to install the domain-wide and provide required permissions to access their Google Contacts on behalf of the company. You only need to do this once. Any company user will be allowed to login and use the application after that.
If someone adds a contact to Share Email Contacts, will that contact appear to everyone in the company?
No. Only domain users who receive access to that group will be able to view and edit contacts based on their access level.
There are three types of permission.
- Read only: users can only view shared groups and contacts.
- Can Add and Edit: users can view shared contacts, add new contacts to the shared group and make contact information edits.
- Can Add, Edit and Delete: users can view shared contacts, add new ones, make contact info edits and delete shared contacts.
Note: Only the admin and owner of the groups can delete or rename the shared contact groups.
No. Anyone with the application can create and manage groups in Contact Share App and manage contacts and domain users. Whoever creates a group becomes the Group Admin and that person can manage domain users for that particular group.
If the admin and owner of a shared group is deleted, the shared group will still be shared, however, the application will stop syncing any updates made to the shared group.
Before the admin account is deleted you can transfer the shared groups to a new admin account and remove all of the shared groups from the original admin’s account. Then, you can log into Share Email Contacts with the new admin account and re-share the groups with relevant users.
If you are the admin of different groups and you want another user to be allowed to manage and share groups of contacts, you have two options.
1) You can replace the admin
You would first give the super admin role to the new user who will be in charge of the application in your domain. Then, you would change ownership of the domain by revoking permissions of the groups shared by the current admin and re-create the contact groups in the new admin’s Google Contacts (you can import and export contacts from current to future admin accounts). Afterwards, ask Share Email Contacts to switch the admin internally. Once that is done, the new admin can log into Share Email Contacts and share his or her groups!
2) You can give the user an admin role in your G Suite domain
You can create the groups in the user’s Google Contacts and – as the new admin – he or she can log into Share Email Contacts and share his or her groups.
The group admin should log into Contact Share App and check the permission of the user adding the contacts. The user likely only has ‘Read only’ permission, so each time that person tries to add contacts to the shared group, the contacts are removed from the group automatically. To fix this issue, the admin should make sure the user has ‘Can Add and Edit’ or ‘Can Add, Edit or Delete’ permission.
I shared a group with an external domain user. Why can't they see the group on their contact manager?
When you share a group with an external domain user, that user has to accept your sharing invitation and the admin of that domain will have to install the application. Please be sure of the following:
- You are signed up with the Enterprise version of Share Email Contacts
- The external domain user received the invitation email and link
- When the invited user opened the link, he or she completed the installation process (if the user is not the admin of the domain, he or she must ask the admin to install the app)
Once the application is installed, the shared group should show up for the invited user. If you and the user have completed the steps above, but the group still isn’t showing, contact our support team for more help.Can’t find your question here? Send us an email at firstname.lastname@example.org
Contact backup feature is only available on the Enterprise Plan. Because of there are additional resources required to backup contacts you will have to upgrade your plan to the Enterprise plan to have this auto contact backup feature.
You can share with as many users as you want but you will be required to buy additional licenses if it is a new user you want to share with.
You will have a secure address book, and you can select permissions for users like:
- Read Only
- Read & Edit Only
- Read, Edit & Delete Only
Whenever you make edits on the desktop version the contacts will automatically sync and update on any device. Whether you are accessing the app through your phone, PC or tablet device they will all be updated at the same time.